Posted by: Kelley Dees | July 26, 2011

Social Wellness Assessment

The social dimension of wellness involves developing, nourishing, and encouraging satisfying relationships. Read each statement carefully and respond honestly by using the following scoring:

Almost always=2 points      

Sometimes/occasionally=1 point    

Very seldom=0 points

  1. I contribute time and/or money to social and community projects.
  2. I am committed to a lifetime of volunteerism.
  3. I exhibit fairness and justice in dealing with people.
  4. I have a network of close friends and/or family.
  5. I am interested in others, including those from different backgrounds than my own.
  6. I am able to balance my own needs with the needs of others.
  7. I am able to communicate with and get along with a wide variety of people.
  8. I obey the laws and rules of our society.
  9. I am a compassionate person and try to help others when I can.
  10. I support and help with family, neighborhood, and work social gatherings.

Total for Social Wellness Dimension

Score: 15 to 20 points: Excellent strength in social wellness.

Score: 9 to 14 points: There is room for improvement. Look again at the items in which you scored 1 or 0. What changes can you make to improve your score?

Score: 0 to 8 points: Your social dimension needs a lot of work. Look again and challenge yourself to begin making small steps toward growth here.

Remember: The goal is balanced wellness.

This information is provided courtesy of the Wyoming AgrAbility Project. For more information, visit our website or call toll-free at 866-395-4986.

This information is adapted from Definition of Wellness.

Leave a Reply

Categories

