Posted by: Patricia Hysong | February 6, 2012

Cold Work Injuries in Agriculture – Strategies for Prevention and Rehabilitation Webinar

Here is some information from the National Agrability Project regarding an upcoming Webinar. Please use the contact information in the message if you have questions or are interested in participating.

 AgrAbility webinar series banner

Cold Work Injuries in Agriculture – Strategies for Prevention and Rehabilitation

February 28, 2012
3:00 p.m. EST; 2:00 p.m. CST; 1:00 p.m. MST; 12:00 p.m. PST

Working in cold temperatures is a hazard for many agricultural workers, but especially for older workers and for workers with certain health conditions. This webinar explains the causes and mechanisms of cold injury as these relate to agricultural work. The focus is especially on meeting the needs of the most vulnerable workers by providing practical guidance to rehabilitation, assistive technology, ergonomics, and health and safety professionals, as well as to agricultural workers seeking cost-effective ways to prevent cold injury.

Our Presenter:

Robert W. Stuthridge is the National AgrAbility Project’s Ergonomist and has worked in rehabilitation ergonomics since 1995. He has presented numerous seminars on disability discrimination and inclusive design both in the UK and USA, including several at Purdue University. He successfully defended his Ph.D. in January 2012, which considers usability risks associated with agricultural workplace assistive technology.   

This is a 60-minute webinar. A question & answer period will follow the presentation.

To participate in this free webinar, email agrability@agrability.org by February 17 and simply put the word “Webinar” in the subject line. If you need captioning for a hearing impairment, please note that in the body of the email. Instructions for accessing the session will be sent to registrants by February 24. Feel free to pass on this invitation to others you believe may be interested. Contact AgrAbility at 800-825-4264 if you have questions.

bottom banner

Copyright © 2012 Purdue University
An equal access/equal opportunity university All rights reserved.

This information is provided courtesy of the Wyoming AgrAbility Project. For more information, visit our website or call toll-free at 866-395-4986.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: